As owner of the Mt Piper power station, EnergyAustralia is proud to be part of the Lithgow and surrounding region and is committed to making a positive difference to our local community.

Community Grants Program

EnergyAustralia Mt Piper provides community funding for local initiatives that will deliver sustainable benefits for the Lithgow region.

EnergyAustralia has the following priority areas for funding. These are:

  • Education: Funding aimed at promoting education and knowledge acquisition. This may also include programs with a social or environmental focus and organisations which support career or skill development.
  • Social inclusion: Funding aimed at facilitating social inclusion. This is aimed at initiatives that support community cohesion and inclusion for all. It may include such things as men’s sheds, upgrading communal facilities, improving local amenities and supporting vulnerable community members. 

How to apply for a community grant

Round 2 Community Grants commence August 1st, 2023, and close August 31st, 2023

Round 1 grant recipients were:
Cooerwull Public School - Physical Fitness for Students program 
Mitchell Conservatorium - Chords of Connection. 
Mountains Youth Services (MYST) - Teen Mental Health First Aid Training. 
Portland Touch Football Association - Construction of Community BBQ Area.  

Before applying, please read our grant guidelines:

Apply now 

For more information, email

EnergyAustralia Lithgow region Community Consultative Committee

The EnergyAustralia Lithgow region Community Consultative Committee (CCC) was formed in 2018 following updated requirements of the Department of Planning and Environment, and continues the information and idea sharing of our previous Community Reference Group.  The CCC meets quarterly, usually at our Mt Piper Power Station to discuss major projects affecting our assets (including Pine Dale Mine) and to assist in building relations with the local community.

Membership of the group includes representatives of:

  • Environmental Groups
  • Lithgow City Council
  • Community Groups
  • Local Residents

Read previous meeting minutes