Jeeralang is a peaking plant located in an open rural environment in the Latrobe Valley, approximately 150km south-east of Melbourne and about 6 km south of Morwell. 

Jeeralang Power Station

Jeeralang consists of seven open cycle gas turbines with a total capacity of 450MW. 

Along with Newport Power Station, the output of Jeeralang has been contracted to EnergyAustralia under the Master Hedge Agreement since 1999. The units are considered part of EnergyAustralia’s peaking generation fleet along with Hallett Power Station. The location and plant configuration also allows Jeeralang to provide system restart ancillary services.

EnergyAustralia purchased Jeeralang Power Station in April 2018