As owner of the Mt Piper power station, EnergyAustralia is proud to be part of the Lithgow and surrounding region and is committed to making a positive difference to our local community.

Community Grants Program

EnergyAustralia Mt Piper provides community funding for local initiatives that will deliver sustainable benefits for the Lithgow region.

EnergyAustralia has the following priority areas for funding. These are:

  • Education: Funding aimed at promoting education and knowledge acquisition. This may also include programs with a social or environmental focus and organisations which support career or skill development.
  • Social inclusion: Funding aimed at facilitating social inclusion. This is aimed at initiatives that support community cohesion and inclusion for all. It may include such things as men’s sheds, upgrading communal facilities, improving local amenities and supporting vulnerable community members. 

How to apply for a community grant

Next round of Grants commence in March 1st 2021.

Before applying, please read our grant guidelines:

Apply now 

For more information, email

Congratulations to our 2020 recipients

Round 1:

  1. Communities and Kids
    Good Start Speech Therapy Program
  2. Lithgow Bears RLFC
    Purchase of a defibrillator for Tony Luchetti sportsground
  3. Lithgow Men’s Shed
    Purchase of tools and equipment
  4. LithGrow Community Garden
    Purchase of equipment/materials
  5. Mingaan Wiradjuri Aboriginal Corporation.
    Bushfire Relief, site protection and remedial work at Maiyingu Marragu rock art site.
  6. Wallerawang Branch Central Acclimatisation Society
    Fishing Pontoon for people with limited ability disorders.

Round 2:

  1. Lithgow Aged Care
    Picnic Area
  2. Lithgow District Junior Cricket Association
    Sun Shelters
  3. Mary MacKillop Today
    Financial Wellbeing
  4. Mitchell Conservatorium
    Student Sponsorship
  5. Rydal Show Society Youth Council

EnergyAustralia Lithgow region Community Consultative Committee

The EnergyAustralia Lithgow region Community Consultative Committee (CCC) was formed in 2018 following updated requirements of the Department of Planning and Environment, and continues the information and idea sharing of our previous Community Reference Group.  The CCC meets quarterly, usually at our Mt Piper Power Station to discuss major projects affecting our assets (including Pine Dale Mine) and to assist in building relations with the local community.

Membership of the group includes representatives of:

  • Environmental Groups
  • Lithgow City Council
  • Community Groups
  • Local Residents

Read previous meeting minutes